## LAMBTON-KENT DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD ~ SPECIAL EDUCATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEETING ~

Thursday, September 19, 2019 @ 6:00 p.m. Baldoon Clubhouse, 7018 Dufferin Avenue, Wallaceburg

Rose Gallaway, Chair

Lori Gall, Recording Secretary

- 1. Call to Order and Approval of the Agenda 5 Minutes
  - Reading of Traditional Territorial Acknowledgement Chair
  - Regrets Chair
- 2. Approval of the Minutes of June 6, 2019 Chair 5 Minutes
- 3. Business Arising from the Minutes Chair 5 Minutes
- 4. Presentation Departmental Teams for 2019-2020 Angie/Sandra/Chris 20 Minutes
- 5. Priority-Setting Session 30 Minutes
- 6. Policy and Regulation Review:
  - Philosophy of Special Education Angie Barrese 5 Minutes
- 7. Exceptional Students Suspended (Out-of-School) By School Year Angie Barrese 5 Minutes
- 8. Correspondence 5 Minutes
  - Letter from the Hastings & Prince Edward District School Board (dated June 4, 2019/ received June 17, 2019), regarding changes to the provincial funding model for autism services.
  - Letter from the Ministry of Education's Director of Special Education (dated July 19, 2019) in response to SEAC's letter regarding Bill 64 Noah and Gregory's Law.
  - Letter from the Greater Essex County District School Board (dated July 5, 2019) regarding Bill 64, Noah and Gregory's Law.
  - Letter from the Greater Essex County District School Board (dated July 5, 2019) regarding changes to special needs funding.
  - Letter from the Greater Essex County District School Board (dated July 5, 2019) regarding the provincial funding model for class size averages.
  - Letter from the Greater Essex County District School Board (dated July 5, 2019) regarding Bill 44 to amend the Education Act relative to Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder.
- 9. Association Reports, Sharing of Best Practices and Other Business 10 Minutes
- 10. Future Agenda Items 5 Minutes
- 11. Questions from the Public 5 Minutes

12	Next Meeting -	Thursday	October 17	2019 @ 6·00 i	nm The	Baldoon	Clubhouse
1 4 .	INCXI IVICCIII IQ	midioday,	OCIODOI 17,	2017 6 0.00		Dalacolli	CIUDITOUSC

## 13. Adjournment

## **Committee Members:**

Angie Barrese - Administration Janet Barnes – Trustee (Vice-Chair) Rose Gallaway (Chair) Chris King Jean MacIntyre Julia MacKellar Sherry Nelson Sandra Pidduck Derek Robertson - Trustee Steve Stokley Wendy Smith Vicki Ware

<u>Copies to:</u> System Coordinator of Special Education, Special Education Coordinators, Central File/Recording Secretary, First Nation Education Offices, Support Services Secretaries