LAMBTON-KENT DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD ~ SPECIAL EDUCATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEETING ~

Thursday, June 10, 2021 @ 6:00 p.m.

Rose Gallaway, Chair

Lori Gall, Recording Secretary

- 1. Call to Order
 - ☑ Reading of Traditional Territorial Acknowledgment Trustee Janet Barnes, SEAC Vice-Chair ☑ Member Regrets Rose Gallaway, SEA Chair
- 2. Approval of the Agenda 5 Minutes
- 3. Approval of the Minutes of May 13, 2021 5 Minutes
- 4. Business Arising from the Minutes 5 Minutes
- 5. Presentation: Indigenous Education Gretchen Sands-Gamble, LKDSB Elementary Consultant 30 Minutes
- 6. Presentation: What is Jordan's Principle? Michelinne Beausoleil, Aamjiwnaang First Nation 20 Minutes
- 7. **Presentation:** Safe Schools Mark Houghton, LKDSB System Coordinator Safe Schools 20 Minutes
- 8. Special Education Plan Items for Review in June Sandra Perkins 5 Minutes

List of Appendices	 The List of Appendices for the 2021 Special Education Plan was updated to reflect all of the changes made throughout the 2020- 2021 school year.
Appendix 1.1	• An itemized list of revisions to the 2021 Special Education Plan, as made during the 2020-2021 school year, was added to Appendix 1.1.

Required:

<u>Motion</u>: "That all information/updates related to the 2021 Special Education Plan presented at the SEAC Meetings held on January 21, February 18, March 25, April 22, May 13, and June 10, 2021, and detailed in Appendix 1.1, be approved."

- 9. Correspondence 5 Minutes
 - Correspondence dated March 30, 2021 from the Renfrew County Catholic District School Board re: Support for Bill 172, the Education Statute Law Amendment Act – Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (FASD)
 - Correspondence dated May 26, 2021 from the Brant Haldimand Norfolk Catholic District School Board re: Support for Bill 172, An Act in Relation to Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (FASD)
 - Correspondence dated May 28, 2021 from Durham District School Board re: Needs-Based Funding/Services for Children with a Diagnosis of Autism – New Pilot Program
- 10. Association Reports, Sharing of Best Practices and Other Business 10 Minutes
- 11. Questions from the Public 5 Minutes
- 12. Next Meeting Thursday, September 16, 2021 @ 6:00 p.m. TBD

13. Adjournment

Committee Members:

Angie Barrese - Administration Jean MacIntyre Derek Robertson - Trustee
Janet Barnes – Trustee (Vice-Chair) Julia MacKellar Steve Stokley
Rose Gallaway (Chair) Sandra Pidduck Wendy Smith
Chris King Melani Rich Vicki Ware

<u>Copies to:</u> System Coordinator of Special Education, Special Education Coordinators, Central File/Recording Secretary, First Nation Education Offices, Special Education Department Support Service Secretaries