LAMBTON-KENT DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD ~ SPECIAL EDUCATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEETING ~

Thursday, January 19, 2023 @ 6:00 p.m. ~ Room 269 at Wallaceburg District Secondary School ~

Chris King, Chair

Lori Gall, Recording Secretary

- 1. Call to Order Chris King
- 2. Reading of Traditional Territorial Acknowledgement Chris Moore
- 3. Regrets/Guests Chris King
- 4. Request for Approval of the Agenda Chris King
- 5. Request for Approval of the Minutes of December 15, 2022 Chris King
- 6. Business Arising from the Minutes, If Any Chris King
- 7. Election of 2023-2024 Chair and Vice-Chair Angie Barrese 10 Minutes
- 8. Presentation: Right to Read: LKDSB Actions and Tiered Support Elementary Program 30 Minutes
- 9. Presentation: Amethyst Demonstration School Amethyst Resource Teacher(s) 30 Minutes
- 10. Special Education Plan Items to Be Reviewed in January Sandra Perkins 10 Minutes

Section/Item Being Reviewed	Proposed Amendments
Section 1 – The Board's Consultation Process	
Board's Consultation Process	• Deleted Program Reviews completed before 2020, the words "and services".
Glossary of Terms	No changes
Acronyms	 Various amendments made, as necessary
2.1.1 – <u>Preamble</u>	Date of Comprehensive Report updated
2.1.2 – <u>Vision, Mission and Belief Statements</u>	No changes
2.1.3 – Philosophy of Special Education	No changes
2.2 – <u>Roles and Responsibilities</u>	No changes
2.3 – Early Identification Procedures and Intervention Strategies	
Appendix 2.3.1 – <u>Referral to Special Services</u>	No changes
Appendix 2.3.2 – Speech and Language Services Administrative Procedure	No changes

- 11. Updated Strategic Priorities Angie Barrese 5 Minutes
- 12. Correspondence
 - > Draft Letter to Minister of Education re: SIP Funding Shortfall
- 13. Association Reports, Sharing of Best Practices and Other Business 10 Minutes
- 14. Questions from the Public Chair
- 15. Call for Future Agenda Items Chair
- 16. Next Meeting Thursday, February 16, 2023 @ 6:00 p.m. in Room 269 at Wallaceburg District Secondary School
- 17. Adjournment Chair

Committee Members:

Angie Barrese - Administration Melani Rich Gillian Hueniken Sandy Bolt Steve Stokley Chris King Marcia Altiman Vicki Ware Lori Richardson Malinda Little Kelley Robertson Julia MacKellar Sarah Simmons Trevor Aldous Melanie Coll Michelle Holbrook Lori Marvin