## LAMBTON-KENT DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD ~ SPECIAL EDUCATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEETING ~

Thursday, May 18, 2017 @ 7:00 p.m. Wallaceburg District Secondary School, Room 143 (ABA Room)

Rose Gallaway, Chair

Lori Gall, Recording Secretary

- 1. Call to Order and Approval of the Agenda 5 Minutes
- 2. Approval of the Minutes of April 20, 2017 5 Minutes
- 3. Business Arising from the Minutes 5 Minutes
- 4. Presentation: 2017–2018 LKDSB Budget Sandy Anderson, Manager of Financial Services 40 Minutes
- 5. Presentation: *Universal Supports & Functions of Behaviour for High Needs Students* Laurie McCarthy, ABA Specialist 30 Minutes
- 6. Special Education Report Amendments for May Special Education Team 15 Minutes
  - Appendix 3.1.3 Special Education Advisory Committee brochure Reference to the Learning Disabilities Association of Lambton County removed
  - Appendix 3.1.4 Your Child, School, and Special Education Supports brochure Reference to the Learning Disabilities Association of Lambton County removed
  - **Appendix 4.2** *Preschool Transition Protocol* Updated to include the current protocol for the South.
  - Appendix 4.3 Special Needs Pre-School Intake Information for both the North and South was updated.
  - Appendix 4.4 Transitional Support for Autistic Students brochure Pages 1 and 2 were removed therefore the Appendix will be re-titled "Steps to School for Children with Special Needs"; as well, the brochure for the North was updated.
- 7. Special Needs Strategy Update Sandra Perkins 5 Minutes
- 6. Correspondence
- 7. Association Reports, Sharing of Best Practices and Other Business 10 Minutes
- 8. Questions from the Public 5 Minutes
- 9. Future Agenda Items 5 Minutes
- 10. Next Meeting Thursday, June 15, 2017 @ 7:00 p.m., W.D.S.S., Room 141

## **Committee Members:**

Jennifer Gillespie

Angie Barrese - Administration Anika Altiman Gordon Crompton Jack Fletcher – Trustee (Vice-Chair) Rose Gallaway (Chair) Elizabeth Hudie - Trustee Chris King Jerry Knight Eva Lizotte Dawn Babkirk Jean MacIntyre Susan Mitchell Tabitha Vercillo Jen Scheuneman Janet Vanderwerf Jane Bryce (Ex-Officio)

<u>Copies to:</u> Trustees, Directors/Superintendents, System Coordinator of Special Education, Special Education Coordinators, Central File/Recording Secretary, First Nation Education Offices/Psychological Services Supervisor/Support Services Secretaries