## LAMBTON-KENT DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD ~ SPECIAL EDUCATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEETING ~

Thursday, May 19, 2016 @ 7:00 p.m. Wallaceburg District Secondary School, Room 141

Rose Gallaway, Chair

Lori Gall, Recording Secretary

- 1. Call to Order and Approval of the Agenda 5 Minutes
- 2. Approval of the Minutes of April 14, 2016 5 Minutes
- 3. Business Arising from the Minutes 5 Minutes
  - Evaluation of Suspension/Expulsion Programs being conducted by Western University Dave Doey
- 4. Presentation: *Toolkits for Transition* Bob Vansickle, Community Living Sarnia-Lambton 30 minutes
- 5. Presentation: 2016 2017 Budget Sandy Anderson, LKDSB Manager of Financial Services 40 Minutes
- 6. Special Education Report Amendments Special Education Team 15 Minutes
  - 1.0 The Board's Consultation Process (Revised)
    - Appendix 1.1 Process for Revision of Special Education Plan (Revised)
  - 2.12 Staff Development
    - Appendix 2.12.1 Planning for Staff Development (Revised)
  - 2.4 Identification, Placement and Review Committee Process (Revised)
    - Appendix 2.4.3 SEAC Insert (Revised)
  - List of Appendices
  - Glossary of Terms/Acronyms (Revised)
- 6. Motion to Approve Updates to the Special Education Plan, as Outlined in Appendix 1.1 5 Minutes
- 7. Correspondence 10 Minutes
  - Letter to Principals dated April 25, 2016 from Demonstration School Parent Councils
  - Ontario News Release, dated May 4, 2016: Ontario Promoting Student Well-Being in Education
  - Minister's Advisory Council on Special Education Communication: Collaborating with the Community
- 8. Association Reports, Sharing of Best Practices and Other Business 10 Minutes
- 9. Questions from the Public 5 Minutes
- 10. Future Agenda Items 5 Minutes
- 11. Next Meeting Thursday, June 16, 2016 @ 7:00 p.m., W.D.S.S., Room 141

## **Committee Members:**

Dave Doey - Administration Elizabeth Hudie - Trustee (Vice-Chair) George Melendy **Christy Bressette Chris King** Susan Mitchell Jerry Knight Rupali Sharma Gordon Crompton Jack Fletcher - Trustee Eva Lizotte Jen Scheuneman Rose Gallaway (Chair) Janet Vanderwerf Julia MacKellar Jennifer Gillespie Jean MacIntyre Jane Bryce (Ex-Officio)

<u>Copies to:</u> Trustees, Directors/Superintendents, System Coordinator of Special Education, Special Education Coordinators, Central File/Regional Office/Recording Secretary, First Nation Education Offices, Psychological Services Supervisor/Support Services Secretaries