Queen Elizabeth II opened its doors in September, 1953. The much
smaller building was composed of 6 classrooms, a kindergarten, an
auditorium, a teachers’ room, nurse’s room, principal’s office and
washrooms. It was Chatham’s fifth new school to be built since the end
of World War II. Mr. Bev. Echlin became the school’s first principal.
As provincial elementary enrollment was going up by 50 000 students a
year, it was soon necessary to add an addition of six more classrooms
just two years later.
Due to the number of new homes being built in the area, pupil
accommodation was again a problem, and six more classrooms (North Wing)
were added in 1959.
In 1963 an emergency annex was added to the back of the school to house the kindergarten classes.
In 1967, a library, a workroom and a science room, along with
offices for the Principal and Vice-principal were completed. Again in
the 90’s another addition of two portable classrooms was added to the
A much greater change was about to occur to Queen Elizabeth in 2001,
when the Board of Education made the decision to close Victoria Park
Public School and transfer the students to Queen Elizabeth. There were
extensive renovations required at the school as a result, and after all
the work was completed they could now boast a new library, computer
room, updated kindergarten facilities, and a new gym. The gym was
eventually named the Dave Allen Gymnasium, after Dave Allin, the first
gym teacher to use the new facilities. Mr. Allin was dedicated to
providing a well rounded sports program for all students at Queen E.
Through all of these changes over the last 60 years, Queen
Elizabeth’s many fine staff members have remained committed to providing
quality education to the many students who have passed through its
doors. as well as providing a safe school environment for all.