Skip to main content
Bus infoStaffEmployment Contact Us
McNaughton Avenue Public School
nut aware.jpgMcNaughton Ave. Public School is a NUT-AWARE SCHOOL

History of McNaughton Ave. Public School

former principals.jpgMcNaughton Avenue Public School opened for the 1967-1968 school year. Originally it served as a consolidated school for Kent Area #1 School Board, replacing many one and two room rural schools in Chatham and Dover townships. The first principal was Jay Teetzel (top row, left). Over the next ten years, the north Chatham residential areas expanded and children living in these new subdivisions were added to the student population. Kent Area #1 became part of the Kent County Board of Education during this time, as part of a county wide amalgamation.

Under McNaughton Avenue's second principal, Ross Brewer (top row, centre), the school's enrollment grew to its maximum size, at one time having approximately 800 students. During this time the Kent County Board of Education Office was built adjoining the school. Soon after, it was decided to convert Tecumseh Secondary School into an elementary facility, and the McNaughton Avenue Public School students from the northwest Chatham suburbs were relocated there, along with those from Dover township. The third principal, Bud Edwards (top row, right), came to the school just before this substantial change in McNaughton Avenue Public School's makeup.

McNaughton Avenue's fourth principal, Barry Rowe (bottom row, left), served during a time of gradual growth, as new suburban residential areas were built in northeast Chatham.

Don Hill, the fifth principal (bottom row, centre), continued the tradition of strong and capable principals which had been part of the more than thirty year history of McNaughton Avenue Public School.

Wayne O'Sullivan (bottom row, right), was the principal for four years at McNaughton, during which he had the difficult assignment of dealing with many significant changes, including the amalgamation of the Kent and Lambton school boards to form the Lambton Kent District School Board. He also led McNaughton during the debut of the provincial computerized report card. New programs were started at McNaughton, to add to the challenges of the new millennium.

Bob Myers becomes the seventh principal of McNaughton Avenue School, having been transferred from Tecumseh Public School after the 2000-2001 year. Deb Ellicott became principal after Mr. Myers retired until she also retired in 2012.

Current principal, Mary Lynn Anderson, became principal after Wilma Sonneveld-Wright was promoted to superintendent with the Lambton Kent District School Board in June of 2013.


McNaughton Avenue Public School
480 McNaughton Ave E, Chatham, ON, N7L 2G9
Principal: Erin Van De Wiele
Vice Principal: Chris Lambkin

Connect with us

© 2017 Lambton Kent District School Board Utility links